Knoxville Unlawful Possession of a Weapon Lawyer

While Tennessee laws protect a citizen's right to bear arms, there are numerous restrictions and laws regulating an individual's ability to carry a weapon beyond his or her premises, residence, or place of business. Under T.C.A § 39-17-1307(b), it is illegal for an individual to carry a firearm, club, or knife with a blade length exceeding four inches "with the intent to go armed." However, the penalties vary largely based on the circumstances. It is not uncommon for unlawful possession charges to simply be dismissed in court.

If you have been charged with unlawful possession of a weapon in Knoxville, you are legally entitled to challenge such charges in order to protect your personal and professional life from the severe consequences of a conviction. It is crucial to consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At Baker Associates, our legal team has the experience and resources necessary to fight on your behalf. It may be possible to have the weapons charges against you reduced or dropped altogether. Call us for a no-cost consultation at (866) 853-2888 or submit an online contact form.

What if I have a Legal Permit to Carry a Weapon?

Tennessee's weapons laws are particularly complicated because there are a number of exceptions to an already unspecific law as T.C.A § 39-17-1307(b). The most notable defense against unlawful possession of a weapon charge is simply whether you have lawful gun carry permits issued by the Department of Safety. Additional exceptions include whether the possession or carrying was:

What are the Penalties for Unlawful Possession of a Weapon?

While it is illegal to possess and carry a weapon with the intent to go armed, the circumstances of the offense and your criminal history will greatly influence the severity of the resulting punishments. For example, if the offense did not occur in public, it will count as a Class C misdemeanor, with a maximum sentence of 30 days in jail. However, if the offense occurred in public, it will count as a Class A misdemeanor, with a maximum sentence of 11 months and 29 days in jail.

Protecting Your Rights and Future

If you or someone you care about has been charged with unlawful weapons possession, do not hesitate to contact the experienced and aggressive attorneys at Baker Associates. We can fight to ensure the best possible outcome for your case and help you avoid steep fines or serving a long prison sentence. Your first consultation is free and confidential. Dial (866) 853-2888 or complete an online contact form.

If you have been charged with the unlawful possession of a weapon, contact a lawyer at our offices by completing the form below.






Anti-spam question:


To view this, you need to install the Flash Player 9. Please go to here and download it.

Launch Video Website

Knox County
2126 First Tennessee Plaza
800 South Gay Street
Knoxville, Tennessee 37929

Phone: (865) 521-0001
Toll-free: (866) 853-2888

Sevier County
121 Court Avenue
Sevierville, Tennessee 37862

Phone: (865) 546-6000
Toll-free: (866) 853-2888

Washington County
300 East Main Street
Johnson City, Tennessee 37601

Tennessee Criminal Defense Lawyer Disclaimer: The unlawful weapons charge, gun possession, criminal defense or other legal information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice, nor the formation of a lawyer or attorney client relationship. Any results set forth here were dependent on the facts of that case and the results will differ from case to case. Please contact a criminal attorney at our Tennessee law firm. This web site is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the State of Tennessee.


Copyright © 2019 Baker & Associates - Serving Tennessee, including East Tennessee, Sevierville, and Knoxville.