Knoxville Harassment Defense Lawyers

At Baker Associates, we know that the mere allegation of harassment can affect the current status of your employment, future job prospects, personal life, and your standing in the community. That's why we will do everything in our power to defend you if you have been accused of this crime. If you have been charged with harassment in Tennessee, the attorneys at the law offices of Baker Associates, have the knowledge, skill, experience, and resources to help you achieve the best possible resolution of your case.

Misdemeanor Harassment under the Laws of Tennessee

The criminal law dealing with harassment was passed in 2001 in Tennessee. This law basically penalizes harassing or threatening phone calls or written communications. The law that existed prior to 2001 was similar, but only included phone calls. The new law includes all communications including text messaging and any other communications made over electronic mail or other Internet applications.

Harassment is one of the Tennessee statutes classified as offenses against public health, safety and welfare. The offenses of stalking and civil rights intimidation also fall under this classification. According to Tennessee Code Annotated Section 39-17-308, a person commits harassment when he or she intentionally:

Criminal harassment is a Class A misdemeanor, which carries less than a year in prison and/or a $2,500 fine.

Felony Harassment in Tennessee

A more serious charge of harassment occurs when the defendant in a criminal case harasses the victim of his or her previous crime. A person convicted of a criminal offense commits harassment if, while incarcerated, on pre-trial diversion, probation or parole, the person intentionally communicates with the victim of the person's crime, and the communication is:

If the victim of the person's harassment died as a result of the underlying offense (not the harassment), then the deceased victim's next of kin will be considered the victim. This form of harassment constitutes a Class E felony sand carries a prison sentence between one and six years and up to a $3,000 fine.

If you have been charged with felony or misdemeanor harassment in Tennessee, please contact an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney at Baker Associates. Call for a free and comprehensive case evaluation today.

To schedule a complimentary evaluation with a criminal defense lawyer at our office serving Pigeon Forge, Knoxville, and Sevierville, complete the form below.






Anti-spam question:


To view this, you need to install the Flash Player 9. Please go to here and download it.

Launch Video Website

Knox County
2126 First Tennessee Plaza
800 South Gay Street
Knoxville, Tennessee 37929

Phone: (865) 521-0001
Toll-free: (866) 853-2888

Sevier County
121 Court Avenue
Sevierville, Tennessee 37862

Phone: (865) 546-6000
Toll-free: (866) 853-2888

Washington County
300 East Main Street
Johnson City, Tennessee 37601

Johnson City Criminal Lawyer Disclaimer: The harassment, criminal threats, criminal defense or other legal information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice, nor the formation of a lawyer or attorney client relationship. Any results set forth here were dependent on the facts of that case and the results will differ from case to case. Please contact a lawyer at our law firm. This web site is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the State of Tennessee.


Copyright © 2019 Baker & Associates